To Be A Sparrow

Though this is not always an annual event, every few years it seems we have a group of turkey buzzards stop and hang out here in the ‘hood on their way to wherever they are going. These birds are huge and for the most part don’t cause any problems unless they decide to congregate on your roof.

Turkey Buzzard I

Turkey Buzzard II

(Source: http://www.wikipedia.org)

So, each morning, out behind our house, anywhere from 20 – 40 of these huge birds begin their day by gathering in the trees, drying their wings on damp days but mostly, just hanging out before they begin scanning the ground for some breakfast.

Turkey Buzzards

(Source: My cell phone camera)

As I watch these enormous birds sit in the tree, chatting amongst themselves, I cannot help to but think how cool it would be if I was a tiny little sparrow and I flew amongst them, perched right in the middle of everyone, looked around and said, “So, what’s going on?”

I would just love to see the look on their faces when I did that!

Leave a Reply

